Concealed Carry Weapons

Concealed Carry Weapons

How do I get my concealed carry permit?

Applicants must complete training requirements as stated in Section 571.111 RSMo.

Applicants must be at least 19 years of age and meet the eligibility requirements as specified by Section 571.101 RSMo.

Applicants can apply by presenting their firearms safety training certificate, a positive picture I.D., proof of current address, complete set of fingerprints and a non-refundable fee.

Applicants who are not a Natural Born Citizen of the United States or its territories will need to provide proof of U.S. citizenship. The following items are accepted as such proof.

  • Previously issued, current, undamaged U.S. Passport
  • Certified birth certificate issued by the city, county or state
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad or Certification of Birth
  • Naturalization Certificate
  • Certificate of Citizenship

http://www.mshp.dps.mo.gov/MSHPWeb/Publications/Brochures/documents/SHP-863.pdf

Where can I apply for my permit?

Applicants from Dallas County must first call Deputy Carson at 417-345-2441 (Monday – Friday 8:00 am- 4:00 pm) or email lcarson@dcsomo.com to schedule an appointment in order to begin the application and fingerprint process after you have obtained your certificate of qualification from a licensed Missouri certified instructor.

How much does a permit cost?

The Dallas County fee for application for a CCW permit is $40.00, exact cash or check made payable to “Dallas County Sheriffs Office”.

The fingerprint fee is $27.25, check or money order only payable to “Criminal Records System Fund”.

The CCW renewal fee is $40.00, exact cash or check made payable to “Dallas County Sheriffs Office”.

Do other states recognize a Missouri CCW permit?

Yes, a number of other states recognize Missouri CCW permits.

For a viewing of states that accept Missouri’s endorsement you may visit the Missouri Attorney General’s Office Web site.

Are there places in Missouri I can’t carry a concealed firearm after I get my permit?

There are a number of places specifically named in the law in which concealed firearms are prohibited.

Missouri Statute 571.107 specifically lists locations and under what circumstances that concealed carry is prohibited. 571.107 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C500-599/5710000107.HTM.

How long will it take to get my CCW permit?

That can vary, depending on the time it takes to complete the background check. However, a certificate will be issued or denied within forty-five (45) calendar days from the date of application.

Where can I find all of the Missouri Statutes that pertain to Concealed Carry and other weapons offenses?

The entire Missouri Revised Statute chapter 571 may be viewed by visiting http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C571.HTM. Section 571.101 RSMo. covers concealed carry endorsements, application requirements-approval procedures-issuance of certificates, when-record-keeping requirements-fees.

I just moved to Dallas County from another state, how can I get my Missouri CCW.

You will need to follow the how to get my conceal and carry instructions.